The tower built upon the ruins of Roman walls is the symbol of the town. The lower square base was functioned as the northern gate tower of the town walls from the 13th century. The characteristic shape of the present tower, the baroque balcony, the spire and the clock tower with a multi-stored onion dome dates from the reconstruction after the town fire of 1676.
For more than 200 years the village of Brennbergbánya was one of the most significant coal mines in Hungary. The first-class coal production wanted miners to be prepared for heavy physical work. The work for the miners of Brennbergbánya was particularly difficult, because this was the deepest mine of Hungary with the highest pressure, raising difficult technical problems.
The Bakery House was owned by bakers already from the 17th century. When the last baker died in 1972, the town bought the house entirely with its furnishings and fittings. It is sure, that the site of the bakery was a built-up area since the Middle Ages, and the rooms of the bakery parts are the oldest. The first known owner of the house was Joachim Hübner baker during 1686-1699.
The medieval synagogue was built at the end of the 12th century and the beginning of the 13th century. It was a tabernacle, an assembly hall and a school also. The Jews living here dealt with trade and finance were not really rich people although they managed to build up this Gothic styled synagogue at the beginning of the 14th century – which is nearly unique in Central Europe.
The demolition of the Pharmacy House was prevented by King Louis II by a Royal Prohibition Letter referring to the unity of the main square of Sopron. Now stored in the Archives, this Prohibition Letter is the first document of monument protection of the country and the pride of the inhabitants of Sopron. From the middle of the 17th century the so-called “Angel Pharmacy” functioned in the building. From that time on, pharmacist and physician families lived here. The Pharmacy House collects the finest furnishings and rare pharmaceutical books of the historical pharmacies, like the “Angel Pharmacy”, the “Black Elephant”, the “Golden Eagle”, and the “Golden Lion”.
The Fabricius House was in the hands of well-to-do patricians since the Middle Ages. Its ornamentation shows the building processes of the wealthy citizenry over the various architectural periods. The exhibition inside the house displays former interiors and the bourgeois urban lifestyle. For the civilian rooms and areas the contemporary inventories provided researchers with accurate information such as the quantities and qualities of the used furniture and objects. So this exhibition can be seen as a reconstruction of the former civilian homes.
The archaeological collection is presented after the monumental and archaeological research then the restoration process of 1963 at the rear part of the Tuscan-columned Fabricius House. The exhibition presents the history of Sopron and its region from the Neolithic age to the 16th century. Habits, culture just as well everyday life of the Illyrians, Celts, Romans, conquering Hungarians and the medieval Sopron is demonstrated by a rich collection of findings. Also to be seen here is a world famous finding from the early Iron Age – the Sun Disk. It is worth visiting the Illyrians’ sepulchral urns decorated with black runic scripts, the firedogs, as well as the Celts’ coins and jewels. The amber jewels, the gold and silver objects of everyday use demonstrate the unbelievable richness of the Roman period. The most valuable piece of the migration period is the Cunpald Goblet, with its estimated age of 1200 years.
Stone relics from Scarbantia, the Roman predecessor of Sopron, and its region are exhibited in the cellar of the Fabricius House. The Gothic cellar houses not only a Roman Lapidary, but the original stonework sanctuary built for the god Mithras in Fertőrákos. A special treasure is exhibited in the smaller room of the lapidary, the shrine of a Roman woman, Scarbantilla, named after Sopron, Scarbantia.
The permanent local history exhibition presents the history of Sopron and former Sopron county from the 17-20th century through following everyday world, lifestyle and fashion changes. In the 17th century room can be found the so-called Stark’s Virginal Book from which visitors can listen to some 17th century music. During the mayoralty of an outstanding figure, Kristóf Lackner, Sopron reached one of the most prosperous periods of the town. This age was greatly determined by the spreading of humanism. Visitors can learn about a particular 17th century women’s wear reconstruction and a detail of a contemporary gusset-copy.