The tower built upon the ruins of Roman walls is the symbol of the town. The lower square base was functioned as the northern gate tower of the town walls from the 13th century. The characteristic shape of the present tower, the baroque balcony, the spire and the clock tower with a multi-stored onion dome dates from the reconstruction after the town fire of 1676.
For more than 200 years the village of Brennbergbánya was one of the most significant coal mines in Hungary. The first-class coal production wanted miners to be prepared for heavy physical work. The work for the miners of Brennbergbánya was particularly difficult, because this was the deepest mine of Hungary with the highest pressure, raising difficult technical problems.
The Bakery House was owned by bakers already from the 17th century. When the last baker died in 1972, the town bought the house entirely with its furnishings and fittings. It is sure, that the site of the bakery was a built-up area since the Middle Ages, and the rooms of the bakery parts are the oldest. The first known owner of the house was Joachim Hübner baker during 1686-1699.
The medieval synagogue was built at the end of the 12th century and the beginning of the 13th century. It was a tabernacle, an assembly hall and a school also. The Jews living here dealt with trade and finance were not really rich people although they managed to build up this Gothic styled synagogue at the beginning of the 14th century – which is nearly unique in Central Europe.
The demolition of the Pharmacy House was prevented by King Louis II by a Royal Prohibition Letter referring to the unity of the main square of Sopron. Now stored in the Archives, this Prohibition Letter is the first document of monument protection of the country and the pride of the inhabitants of Sopron. From the middle of the 17th century the so-called “Angel Pharmacy” functioned in the building. From that time on, pharmacist and physician families lived here. The Pharmacy House collects the finest furnishings and rare pharmaceutical books of the historical pharmacies, like the “Angel Pharmacy”, the “Black Elephant”, the “Golden Eagle”, and the “Golden Lion”.
The permanent local history exhibition presents the history of Sopron and former Sopron county from the 17-20th century through following everyday world, lifestyle and fashion changes. In the 17th century room can be found the so-called Stark’s Virginal Book from which visitors can listen to some 17th century music. During the mayoralty of an outstanding figure, Kristóf Lackner, Sopron reached one of the most prosperous periods of the town. This age was greatly determined by the spreading of humanism. Visitors can learn about a particular 17th century women’s wear reconstruction and a detail of a contemporary gusset-copy.
In the garden of the Lenck-villa – also known as “Museumgarden” – takes place along the brick wall and the old 17th century’s stone town walls those graves, which were guarded by Sopron’s old Lutheran cemetery for posterity. The old cemetery was behind the Dániel Berzsenyi Lutheran Grammar School, while it had been eradicated completely at the beginning of the 20th century.